3 Los Alamos scientists elected 2021 Fellows of the American Physical Society

APS Fellowship recognizes outstanding contributions to science, technology, teaching, or service

October 20, 2021

Eric Brown Nathan Moody Takeyasu Ito
From Left: 2021 APS Fellows Eric Brown, Nathan Moody and Takeyasu Ito.

LOS ALAMOS, N.M., Oct. 20, 2021-Three Los Alamos National Laboratory scientists have been elected fellows by the American Physical Society (APS). The new APS fellows are Eric Brown, Takeyasu Ito and Nathan Moody.

“I am pleased to see Eric, Takeyasu and Nathan recognized by the American Physical Society,” said Thom Mason, Laboratory director. “This recognition highlights their contributions to the physics community, and I congratulate each of them on this honor.”

The APS Fellowship Program recognizes APS members who may have made advances in physics through original research and publication, or made significant innovative contributions in the application of physics to science and technology. They may also have made significant contributions to the teaching of physics or service and participation in the activities of the APS.

Los Alamos National Laboratory’s 2021 APS Fellows: 

Eric Brown was named fellow for technical leadership in the physics of materials at high pressures and strain rates, for technical advances in the understanding of the mechanical behavior of polymers, and for sustained leadership and service to the American Physical Society and the shock physics community.

Brown joined the Laboratory as a Director’s Postdoctoral fellow in 2003 and was subsequently converted to a technical staff member in the Materials Science and Technology division. He is currently a senior scientist in the Office of Experiment Science. His research has spanned fracture and damage of complex heterogeneous polymers and polymer composites for energetic, reactive, and structural applications including crystalline phase transitions, plasticity, dynamic loading conditions, and self-healing materials.

Brown received his bachelor’s degree in mechanical engineering in 1998 and his doctoral degree in theoretical and applied mechanics in 2003, both from the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign.

Takeyasu Ito was selected as an APS fellow for fundamental studies that led to the development of the world’s most powerful ultracold neutron source, for its commissioning, and for its application to precision measurement of the neutron and its decay.

Ito joined the Physics division at Los Alamos National Laboratory as a staff scientist in 2005. His work has focused on using ultracold neutrons as a probe for studying the consistency of the standard model of particle physics and searching for what may lie beyond it. He is currently the focus lead for the Neutron team in the Nuclear and Particle Physics and Applications group in the Physics division at Los Alamos.

He received his doctoral degree in physics from the University of Tokyo in 1997.

Nathan Moody was selected for fundamental developments in material physics methods to protect and enhance the ruggedness and performance of photocathodes and materials surfaces critical to particle accelerators.

Moody is a technical staff member and group leader of the Applied Electrodynamics group within Accelerator Operations and Technology division at the Laboratory. He stewards Los Alamos’ largest concentration of accelerator science, technology, and engineering talent and capability at the Laboratory, with teams contributing to the Los Alamos Neutron Science Center, the Dynamic Meso-scale Measurement Science Capability and the Dual-Axis Radiographic Hydrodynamic Test accelerator facilities and projects, as well as multiple global security programs.

He obtained his master’s and doctoral degrees in electrical and computer engineering from the University of Maryland at College Park, in 2004 and 2006, respectively.

About Los Alamos National Laboratory

Los Alamos National Laboratory, a multidisciplinary research institution engaged in strategic science on behalf of national security, is managed by Triad, a public service oriented, national security science organization equally owned by its three founding members: Battelle Memorial Institute (Battelle), the Texas A&M University System (TAMUS), and the Regents of the University of California (UC) for the Department of Energy’s National Nuclear Security Administration.

Los Alamos enhances national security by ensuring the safety and reliability of the U.S. nuclear stockpile, developing technologies to reduce threats from weapons of mass destruction, and solving problems related to energy, environment, infrastructure, health, and global security concerns.