25 students from 16 schools complete two-week virtual Summer Physics Camp for Young Women

    2020 campers hail from New Mexico communities of Acalde, Chimayó, Española, Los Alamos, Santa Cruz, Santa Fe and White Rock

    July 1, 2020

    By attending on-line presentations and doing hands-on experiments at home, 25 students completed the first virtual Summer Physics Camp for Young Women.

    LOS ALAMOS, N.M., July 1, 2020—Twenty-five students completed the fourth annual Los Alamos National Laboratory Summer Physics Camp for Young Women, June 8–19. Held virtually for the first time, participants watched live video lectures on topics such as crystal structures, electricity and magnetism, optics, machine learning, chaos theory, biophysics, the Mars rover, and spectroscopy. Students also received materials for conducting associated hands-on experiments and coding activities at home.

    “It is my honor to congratulate the dedicated young women who blazed the way for a virtual session of this two-week, intensive physics camp,” said Los Alamos National Laboratory Director Thom Mason. “I also want to thank the employees of Los Alamos National Laboratory who gave their time and expertise to help inspire the next generation of STEM experts.”

    Participation in the camp is free, and students receive a certificate and stipend. The camp also covers resumes and interviews, college opportunities in New Mexico, the importance of professional societies, and internships and careers at the Laboratory.

    The camp is the vision of Anna Llobet, a physicist in the neutron science and technology group at the Laboratory, who won the 2018 LANL Distinguished Performance Award for organizing the camp. The event involves volunteer presentations from roughly 80 Laboratory scientists, engineers, and other professionals, 77 percent of whom are female.

    Guest presenters included Emily Calandrelli, TV host of Xploration Outerspace; Heather Bottom, NASA Jet Propulsion Laboratory systems engineer; Thomas Proffen and Catherine Schuman, data analytics experts from Oak Ridge National Laboratory; Dr. Pascale Creek Pinner, Albert Einstein Distinguished Educator Fellow and 2008 Hawaii Teacher of the Year; and Hawi Stecher, STARBASE Hawaii instructor.

    The 2020 group represents the New Mexico communities of Acalde, Chimayó, Española, Los Alamos, Santa Cruz, Santa Fe, and White Rock. For the first time this year, four students attended from Hilo, Hawaii through a partnership with the Thirty Meter Telescope International Observatory in Maunakea, HI and the Hawaii Science and Technology Museum in Hilo, HI. The camp is supported by the Laboratory, the New Mexico Consortium, the LANL Foundation, Athena Scholars, Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers, and Los Alamos and Pojoaque Valley schools. Sixty percent of camp participants are minorities, who have been historically underrepresented in STEM fields.

    The 2020 Summer Physics Camp for Young Women participants are:

    Academy for Technology and the Classics, Santa Fe
    Sofia Horn

    Española Valley High School
    Shayna Gomez
    Anelia Holterman
    Athena Martinez 

    Carla Pacheco 

    Hilo Intermediate School, Hilo HI
    Haeli Baldwin
    Christina Jung

    Kea’au High School, Keau, HI
    Crystal Simeon 

    Los Alamos High School
    Rachel Butler
    Kaisa Drew
    Jalyn Gould
    Nina Johnson
    Rebeca Rocha 

    Los Alamos homeschool and attending University of New Mexico
    Madison Morris 

    Los Alamos Middle School
    Sofia Parra 

    Mandela International Magnet School, Santa Fe
    Paige Humphrey
    Liana Star 

    The MASTERS Program at Santa Fe Community College
    Rui Wheaton

    Monte del Sol Charter School, Santa Fe
    Alegra Vierra

    New Mexico School for the Arts, Santa Fe
    Nico Turner

    Pojoaque Valley High School
    Taylor Quintana

    Pojoaque Valley Middle School
    Araya Vigil

    Santa Fe High School
    Pilar Hernandez

    Santa Fe Prep
    Maya Glass

    Waiakea Intermediate School, Hilo HI
    Andee Dela Cruz

    About Los Alamos National Laboratory

    Los Alamos National Laboratory, a multidisciplinary research institution engaged in strategic science on behalf of national security, is managed by Triad, a public service oriented, national security science organization equally owned by its three founding members: Battelle Memorial Institute (Battelle), the Texas A&M University System (TAMUS), and the Regents of the University of California (UC) for the Department of Energy’s National Nuclear Security Administration.

    Los Alamos enhances national security by ensuring the safety and reliability of the U.S. nuclear stockpile, developing technologies to reduce threats from weapons of mass destruction, and solving problems related to energy, environment, infrastructure, health, and global security concerns.